President Obama Announces ‘Promise Zones’

As part of a concerted effort to address the pockets of poverty across the nation, President Obama announced Thursday that the federal government will partner with economically disadvantaged communities to fight poverty.

According to the New York Times, “Mr. Obama said the five areas would become ‘Promise Zones,’ where federal agencies will cut through red tape in an effort to give struggling residents a chance at better lives.”

The first five zones are: San Antonio, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Southeastern Kentucky and the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma.

“White House officials said the Promise Zones initiative would not provide new money, rather it would be aimed at providing the local governments and agencies ‘aid in cutting through red tape to get access to existing resources.’”

“Officials said the administration hoped to expand to 20 Promise Zones by the time Mr. Obama leaves office.”

Read previous post:
Obama Announces Extensive Energy Review

"President Obama on Thursday ordered a sweeping review of energy strategy that will involve departments and agencies across the federal...